I am sorry that there have been no postings on this blog recently.  In late October I was admitted to hospital for major emergency surgery and have only recently returned home.

I am now well on the way to recovery with just one more operation due in the spring.  Therefore, normal service will very shortly be resumed!

As regular readers of this blog will be aware, I have been commenting on the decline of the NHS for quite some time now.  However, even I was surprised when I called for an emergency ambulance only to be told that even though I had acute and worsening abdominal pain I was not a priority and that an ambulance would not be with me for at least 2 hours.  My husband then drove me to the hospital where my condition was not accurately diagnosed and what should have been routine surgery with a relatively speedy recovery turned in to emergency surgery requiring a week long stay in the intensive care unit and a prolonged period of recovery.

